Just Add Water

Hey everyone! I kind of have somewhat of an underwater theme going on since once again we’ll be diving in 😉  to some underwater art. These photos were taken by photographer Benjamin Von Wong who I may need to take a closer look at later since I love these photos so much! I don’t know what it is but I think the vastness and mystery of the ocean is something that has always intrigued me. I don’t know how to swim and I think that adds a certain aspect of spookiness to the big blue. Whatever the reason, these photos are hauntingly beautiful. I just love the way the clothing and hair of the models move. This is especially true for the first photo. It looks as if she is descending from some world up above and is floating down into another realm. It comes across as very angelic to me.

I also love the movement and flow in all of these, it makes these models seem like they actually belong in these setting and are not just people being placed in a scene to make a pretty picture. I’m going to put the link to the article and images down below but let me just tell you now that these photos took a lot of work. In order to pull this off Von Wong needed freedivers who would also be the models, stylists, makeup, etc. This is one of the qualities of a good artist that I really admire. He had a vision and did what he had to make it come to life and he did it right without cutting corners. No one’s perfect and I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not exactly diligent when it comes to my craft. However, when I do something I try to put my best in it and do the best I can with what I know I can do. Effort is everything and it certainly paid off for Von Wong! As always below are my favorites (which in this case is all of them)and the link to the article! Until next time!

14275318024_ba17f8211d_b 14112528097_1f242fe4c6_b 14649640177_c5173dd7bb_b 14836177315_857eaf9c2c_b

 

Link to article: http://blog.flickr.net/2014/08/08/surreal-underwater-photo-shoot/

Leave a Reply

